Team of the Year

Check out pictures from the Mustangs first win of the season at the Eastleigh SPAA in Southampton

Celebrating with a representative from the award sponsor Draper Tools (Photo Credit: Twitter/Eastleigh SPAA)

It was a successful night for local sport as the 2016 Eastleigh Sports Awards took place at the Hilton Ageas Bowl in Southampton.

Former Saints player and Eastleigh SPAA ambassador Francis Benali opened the night which also featured professional Boccia player and British number one David Smith. Both shared moments of wisdom and humour with the nominees.

The Mustangs were nominated for two awards, ultimately winning Team of the Year as our NBL Championship-winning side pipped Ravenscrest Netball Team and Toynbee School Indoor Rowing Team for the coveted prize.

Sadly our #10 Maikel Azcuy Perez lost out to veteran Badminton player Vicki Betts in the Sportsperson of the Year category.

Eastleigh Sports Awards Chair Lou Gittens brought the evening to a fitting end with her closing speech.

Read the full list of nominees